Explore

Day Column

St Neots Market Square in the 1960s supplied by the Cambridgeshire Community Archive
St Neots Market Square in the 1960s supplied by the Cambridgeshire Community Archive

In the centre of one of the largest market squares in the country is the Day Column. A cast iron structure, erected in 1822 by John Day who was a local brewer.

The market square has been in use since before 1135, when the monks of The Priory, which stood a little further north of the square, were granted a market charter. The stalls which were set up near the Priory walls were the fore-runners of the present shops and inns.

John Day commissioned the column to enhance the Market Square and provide lighting.