Explore

John Day’s Brewery

Converted oasthouse from John Day's Brewery, St Neots by Roger Fletcher
Converted oasthouse from John Day's Brewery, St Neots by Roger Fletcher

At the end of Priory Lane are two buildings which originally formed part of John Day’s Brewery – Priory House and the barley malting kiln both from the 18th century are all that remains of brewery which once covered all the area between there and the river.

John Day acquired the brewery in 1814 from it’s founder William Fowler. Most of the brewery buildings were demolished in the 1960’s but the Oast House was preserved and is a scheduled ancient monument. The Priory Centre and the Public Library now occupy part of the former brewery site.