Explore

St Mary’s, Eaton Socon

St Mary's Church, Eaton Socon by Steve Bond
St Mary's Church, Eaton Socon by Steve Bond

St Mary’s consists of a square-ended chancel with vestry and organ transept, a clerestoried nave with north and south aisles and porch, and a west tower, all of brown cobble with a good deal of squared ironstone in the tower.

In 1930 the church was seriously damaged by fire, and it was practically rebuilt by Sir Albert Richardson following the original design and reconsecrated in 1932. Originally, the tower (largely undamaged by the fire) dated from the 14th century with the rest of the church dating from the 15th century. The original organ transept was a 19th century addition and a brick parish room has recently been added on the north side, communicating with the church through the nave doorway.

The font has a square bowl of Purbeck marble, dating from about the middle of the 12th century, ornamented with carved intersecting arcading on a modern base, consisting of a pedestal and shafts.